Seven years from when?
Buying a phone with seven years of updates doesn’t give you seven years from checkout. The clock may already have been running for months. That matters if you’re buying an older flagship on sale or planning to pass it on to someone else.
The Pixel 11 Pro and Galaxy S26 Ultra have explicit long-term promises. Google lists seven years of OS, security, and Pixel Drop updates; Samsung promises seven generations of OS upgrades and seven years of security updates. Their starting points differ, so read the date as well as the headline (Google’s policy; Samsung’s S26 commitment).
Android versions and security patches are separate promises
An OS upgrade moves a phone to a new Android version. A security patch fixes vulnerabilities and can arrive without changing that version. A long security promise therefore doesn’t tell you how many Android versions you’ll receive.
Tablet documentation can use a third kind of wording. For the European HONOR MagicPad4, the product information sheet lists five years of minimum availability of security, corrective, and functionality updates. That statement does not establish five Android version upgrades or an exact support end date, and it should not be applied to every regional version.
Here is the wording recorded in the launch sources for these four devices:
| Device | Launch commitment | Samsung patch schedule recorded September 23, 2026 |
|---|---|---|
| Pixel 11 Pro | Seven years of OS, security, and Pixel Drop updates | Not applicable |
| Galaxy S26 Ultra | Seven generations of OS upgrades and seven years of security updates | Monthly |
| Galaxy Z Fold8 Ultra | Not stated in the cited launch release | Monthly |
| Galaxy Tab S11 Ultra | Not stated in the cited launch release | Quarterly |
The missing entries mean those launch releases don’t supply a commitment. They don’t mean Samsung has promised no updates (Fold8 launch; Tab S11 launch).
Google and Samsung start the clock differently
Google counts from the phone’s first availability on the Google Store in the US. Buying later doesn’t restart that period (Pixel Help). Google’s Pixel 11 announcement includes OS, security, and Pixel Drop updates in its seven-year promise.
For the S26 series, Samsung’s US launch footnote counts seven generations of OS upgrades and seven years of security updates from the global launch date. The global release mentions security support; the US footnote supplies the fuller wording (Samsung US; Samsung Global).
When comparing two offers, write down the support start date alongside the price. A cheaper phone can still be the sensible purchase, but its remaining support may be shorter than the box suggests.
A patch schedule isn’t an end date
Samsung’s security scope page groups devices by monthly, quarterly, and biannual schedules. The table above preserves the September 23 check; use the live list to see where your model sits now.
A monthly listing doesn’t promise monthly patches for the device’s entire life. Samsung also notes that delivery varies by region and model. Keep the questions separate: how often patches arrive today, and how long the manufacturer has committed to supporting the device.
Before buying a phone you plan to keep
Find the exact model’s policy, identify whether it covers OS upgrades, security patches, or both, and check when the period begins. For an imported or carrier model, confirm the model number rather than relying on the name on the listing.
This deserves particular attention if you keep a phone for four or five years or hand it down afterward. For the Fold8 Ultra and Tab S11 Ultra, check Samsung’s current documentation before making a long-term purchase around an update promise that the cited launch releases don’t state.
Sources
- honor.com · checked HONOR MagicPad4 European product information sheet
- blog.google · checked Google Keyword: Google introduces Pixel 11, Pixel 11 Pro and Pixel 11 Pro XL
- support.google.com · checked Google Pixel Help: when Pixel phones get software updates
- news.samsung.com · checked Samsung Global Newsroom: Galaxy S26 series launch
- news.samsung.com · checked Samsung US Newsroom: Galaxy S26 series launch (update commitment footnote)
- news.samsung.com · checked Samsung Global Newsroom: Galaxy Z Fold8 Ultra, Fold8 and Flip8 announcement
- news.samsung.com · checked Samsung Global Newsroom: Galaxy Tab S11 series announcement
- security.samsungmobile.com · checked Samsung Mobile Security: security updates scope






